Cooking Adventure: Fried Wontons

Today I wanted to try something totally different so I bought a wok. Buying a wok is something you do when you are too old to start a heroin habit but too young to start drinking gin for breakfast.

So here I am, an Afro-Mexican American living in Canada interested in making Asian food My first experiment is homemade fried pork wontons.

DSC00400

These things were more difficult that I would imagine. Making most ethnic food is hard when you live in a very non-Ethnic country. I would be in heaven if I wanted french fries and Jell-O for dinner.

I could not find wonton wrappers anywhere so I had to make my own. They are similar to tortillas and now my kitchen is covered in flour. They also came out bigger than the pictures online so I was full after only three. Let’s hope someone with a big belly stops by in the near future.

Leave a Reply

