Cooking Adventure: Gumbo

Now that it is freezing cold out it’s that time of year for soups and stews. I blame the 10 lbs I gained last year on my love of stew.But I don’t care anymore, I have a companion that enjoys my curves and I have been buying bigger sweaters to hide my imperfections while in public.

Anyway my first soup of the year is GUMBO!!!

This is a fun soup to make. First you make the stock

DSC00470

Then you make the roux…

DSC00473

Then you add stuff and then you let it cook.

Making gumbo makes me soooooo happy. I have had a complicated few weeks full of craziness. You see, I have this boyfriend kinda guy and he seems to think that my insane rants are not as adorable as I do. I think I am hilarious, he thinks I am scary at times. When I am feeling misunderstood I tend to eat my feelings. That’s where the gumbo comes in. Being in your pajamas at 3pm isn’t so sad when you have a delicious bowl of gumbo to keep you company.

Leave a Reply

